Total Pageviews

New leadership

Contact us:

PCJSS/JSS key persons:
Sudha Sindhu Khisa, President/ Rupayan Dewan, Vice President,/Tatindra Lal Chakma, General Secretary/. Responsibility shouldered on 11 July 2013.

Background: The present central committee was elected on 11 July 2013, on the 2nd day of the 3-day long 10th PCJSS national conference. The earlier committee (convening committee) was formed on 10th April 2010 when Mr. Santu Larma convened the 9th national conference (29-31 March 2010) in sheer violation of the party constitution and excluded a few hundred veteran leaders and members and also "formally" expelled 7 top veteran leaders (Chandra Sekhar Chakma, Sudhasindhu Khisa, Rupayan Dewan, Tatindra Lal Chakma, Eng. Mrinal Kanti Tripura, Advocate Shaktiman Chakma and Binoy Krishna Khisa) and also declared their capital punishment. The present leadership is determined to democratise the JSS under a collective leadership.

"The world suffers a lot not because of the violence of the bad people, But because of the silence of the good people." Napoleon (1769-1821).

Friday, May 21, 2010

'Poor Show' by CHT Land Dispute Body

Courtesy: Friday, May 21, 2010

'Poor Show' by CHT Land Dispute Body
Only 2,178 applications submitted in 48 days
Most petitioners are Bangalee settlers

Jasim Majumder, Khagrachhari

The CHT Land Dispute Resolution Commission, formed to resolve land disputes in Rangamati, Bandarban and Khagrachhari hill districts, has received only 2,178 applications in 48 working days till Tuesday.
Most of the petitioners, who submitted applications to settle land disputes, are Bangalee settlers, said sources of the commission office.
The commission issued public notice seeking applications within 60 workings days from March 13 to resolve land disputes in the three districts of Chittagong Hill Tracts (CHT).
When contacted, Acting Chairman of Khagrachhari Hill District Council Kujendra Lal Tripura, also a member of the CHT Affairs Land Commission, said the number of applications is poor and the ethnic people are totally ignoring the invitation.
“The commission will have to make people, particularly the ethnic groups, aware about the notice. Otherwise, the CHT land disputes will remain unresolved,” the chairman said, adding that the commission must fulfill the quorum for its meeting to make its decision fruitful.
The commission has so far received applications from Dighinala, Bagaichhari, Langudu, Manikchhari, Laxmichhari, Kaptai, Mohalchhari, Matiranga, Lama, Ali Kadom, Naniyarchar, Ramgarh, Panchhari, Rajasthali, Khagrachhari Sadar and Bandarban Sadar upazilas, sources said.
No application has been submitted from nine other upazilas of the three hill districts.
Shanti Bikash Tripura, an indigenous man from Azodda village in Matiranga upazila of Khagrachhari, went to the commission office on Tuesday to submit application, alleging that one Mohammad Mizanur Rahman occupied his three acres of land in 1981.
“Most of the ethnic people in my area do not know about the process of application or last date of submission” he said.
Joynal Abedin of Shalbagan in Khagrachhari Sadar upazila said he went to the commission office to settle a land dispute after hearing about the public notice from his neighbours.
Contacted over cell phone, Land Dispute Resolution Commission Secretary Md Abdul Hamid admitted that the number of applications submitted to the commission was very poor.
He, however, said, “The number will increase as the commission has already decided to give additional 60 working days to the petitioners to submit their applications on competition of the first phase of submission.”

No comments:

Post a Comment