Total Pageviews

New leadership

Contact us:

PCJSS/JSS key persons:
Sudha Sindhu Khisa, President/ Rupayan Dewan, Vice President,/Tatindra Lal Chakma, General Secretary/. Responsibility shouldered on 11 July 2013.

Background: The present central committee was elected on 11 July 2013, on the 2nd day of the 3-day long 10th PCJSS national conference. The earlier committee (convening committee) was formed on 10th April 2010 when Mr. Santu Larma convened the 9th national conference (29-31 March 2010) in sheer violation of the party constitution and excluded a few hundred veteran leaders and members and also "formally" expelled 7 top veteran leaders (Chandra Sekhar Chakma, Sudhasindhu Khisa, Rupayan Dewan, Tatindra Lal Chakma, Eng. Mrinal Kanti Tripura, Advocate Shaktiman Chakma and Binoy Krishna Khisa) and also declared their capital punishment. The present leadership is determined to democratise the JSS under a collective leadership.

"The world suffers a lot not because of the violence of the bad people, But because of the silence of the good people." Napoleon (1769-1821).

Monday, June 14, 2010

Asian NGOs concerned at govt failure to appoint HR instt members

Monday, June 14, 2010

Diplomatic Correspondent

The Asian NGOs Network on National Human Rights Institutions has expressed grave concern over the failure of the governments in Asia, including Bangladesh, to appoint members to their national human rights institutions (NHRIs) in accordance with the Paris Principles.

This illustrates the lack of political will by these governments to strengthen their NHRIs, the NGOs Network said in a statement received in Dhaka yesterday.

To date, there are at least two NHRIs in Asia that still do not have commissioners -- the Bangladesh National Human Rights Commission (BNHRC) and the Human Rights Commission of Sri Lanka (HRCSL), the NGOs Network said, adding that human rights violations continue to take place in these countries.

In Bangladesh, the chairperson and two commissioners of the National Human Rights Commission were appointed in December 2008. However, on July 9, 2009 the parliament passed a new law entitled the 'National Human Rights Commission Act 2009', which was approved by the President on July 13, 2009.

Under the new law, the commission should have one full time and six part-time commissioners. However, before the new law came into force, the two commissioners that had already been appointed resigned and the chairperson is now left alone sitting in the commission. New commissioners have yet to be appointed by the government, the NGOs Network said.

No comments:

Post a Comment