Total Pageviews

Saturday, July 24, 2010

Santu Larma seeks spl govt

Courtesy: New Age, Dhaka, National, July 24,2010

Santu Larma seeks spl govt
system for CHT

Bangladesh Sangbad Sangstha . Rangamati

The Chittagong Hill Tracts Regional Council chairman, Jyotirindra Bodhiprio Larma alias Santu Larma, has called upon the government to introduce a special governing system in the CHT region by amending the constitution.
He said a ‘different reality’ would surely emerge in the region, if the High Court verdict scrapping the CHT Council Act is upheld by the Supreme Court.
Therefore, the government would have to take initiatives to amend the constitution to make the CHT Council Act and CHT District Council Act effective.
Santu Larma was speaking at a regional workshop on land problem in CHT and measures to overcome, at Rangamati district sports council auditorium on Friday.
He criticised the CHT land commission chairman and alleged that he was making the things complicated instead of resolving the problems.
CHT Forest and Land Rights Movement, Kapeng Foundation and Khagrachari Headman Association have organised the two-day workshop.
Presided over by CHT Forest and Land Rights Movement president Goutam Dewan, the workshop was also addressed by Chakma Circle chief Raja Debashish Roy, Bomang Rajkumar Chalapru Chowdhury Jimi and Khagrachari Headman Association president Shaktipada Tripura.
Professionals from three hill districts — Rangamati, Khagrachari and Bandarban are taking part in the workshop.

No comments:

Post a Comment