Total Pageviews

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

SAHR's New Delhi meet urges for CHT Accord implementation

South Asians for Human Rights (SAHR), a body composed of eminent personalities of South Asia urges Bangladesh government to implement the Chittagong Hill Tracts Peace Accord. A statement of SAHR released on Monday, after a three-day meeting in New Delhi makes the issue public, reports the Daily Times, Lahore, Pakistan.

SAFH aims at promotion of peace, democracy and security in South Asia. The participants in the meeting reiterated for an urgent political engagement through dialogues between countries and concerned citizens. The body also called upon the governments of South Asia to set up regional systems for disaster management, dispute resolution and post conflict reconciliation.

The Daily Times reports in its today’s issue “They asked the regional countries to make sure that counterterrorism measures did not sanction impunity for disappearances and extrajudicial killings by intelligence agencies and security forces, and called for implementation of the Chittagong Hill Tracts Peace Accord and consensus for a constitution in Nepal. The meeting also demanded creation of a regional mechanism for post-conflict reconciliation, formulation of a regional protocol on treatment of prisoners and a regional convention for settlement of the internally displaced in conformity with UN declarations.”

SAHR groups with Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Professor Rehman Sobhan, Dr Kamal Hossain, and Mr. Motiur Rehman from Bangladesh were present in the meeting.

Read more:

No comments:

Post a Comment