Total Pageviews

Friday, October 22, 2010

CHT accord execution committee meets PM

Courtesy: New Age, Dhaka, Friday, 23 Oct 2010
Web: . Dhaka
The national committee to execute the 1997 Chittagong Hill Tracts Peace Accord has met with prime minister Sheikh Hasina.

The committee members, led by its convenor senior Awami League leader Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, went to the prime minister's office at about 11:00am on Thursday.

Prime minister's press secretary Abul Kalam Azad told that detailed discussions on the advancement of its works were held during the meeting, and the prime minister had given some directions to the committee.

The signing of the peace agreement on December 2, 1997 brought an end to the nearly two-decade long bloody bush war that was being waged in the hills tracts by the Parbattya Chattagram Jana Sanghati Samity military wing Shanti Bahini.

Following the accord, about 2,000 members of the Shanti Bahini surrendered their arms on that day and returned to normal life while nearly 74,000 refugees, who took shelter in the Indian state of Tripura during the volatile period, returned to their homeland.

No comments:

Post a Comment