Total Pageviews

New leadership

Contact us:

PCJSS/JSS key persons:
Sudha Sindhu Khisa, President/ Rupayan Dewan, Vice President,/Tatindra Lal Chakma, General Secretary/. Responsibility shouldered on 11 July 2013.

Background: The present central committee was elected on 11 July 2013, on the 2nd day of the 3-day long 10th PCJSS national conference. The earlier committee (convening committee) was formed on 10th April 2010 when Mr. Santu Larma convened the 9th national conference (29-31 March 2010) in sheer violation of the party constitution and excluded a few hundred veteran leaders and members and also "formally" expelled 7 top veteran leaders (Chandra Sekhar Chakma, Sudhasindhu Khisa, Rupayan Dewan, Tatindra Lal Chakma, Eng. Mrinal Kanti Tripura, Advocate Shaktiman Chakma and Binoy Krishna Khisa) and also declared their capital punishment. The present leadership is determined to democratise the JSS under a collective leadership.

"The world suffers a lot not because of the violence of the bad people, But because of the silence of the good people." Napoleon (1769-1821).

Tuesday, October 05, 2010

Adivasi Chhatra-Jubo Convention held, Constitutional recognition to Adivasis demanded

Courtesy: The daily Star, Dhaka, Metropolitan, Tuesday, October 5, 2010

People from different indigenous communities bring out a rally from Dhaka University yesterday on the occasion of Jatiya Adivasi Chhatra-Jubo Convention 2010.Photo: STAR

Adivasi Chhatra-Jubo Convention held
Constitutional recognition to Adivasis demanded
Staff Correspondent

Speakers at the Jatiya Adivasi Chhatra-Jubo Convention yesterday urged the government to give constitutional recognition to the indigenous communities and satisfy their other democratic demands.

They also called upon the indigenous people to continue movement to realise their rights during the period of the incumbent government.

Youths from different indigenous communities organised the convention at the base of Aparajeyo Bangla of Dhaka University.

The speakers said a vested quarter is interested to create chaos all the time in the Chittagong Hill Tracts (CHT) to gain their political and economical benefits.

Justice Ghulam Rabbani cited his own definition of Adivasi -- people who are out of the influence of Bengali culture but belong to different cultures -- and recommended inclusion of this new definition in the constitution.

Reshed Khan Menon, chairman of the parliamentary caucus on indigenous affairs, said indigenous communities will be named as Adivasi instead of “ethnic minority groups” in the constitution.

Jatindra Lal Tripura, chairman of CHT Refugee Affairs Taskforce, asked the indigenous people to continue movement until their democratic demands and rights are fulfilled.

DU teachers Prof Dalem Chandra Barman, Prof Mezbah Kamal, and Prof HK Arfin, among others, spoke at the session.
Students of tribal communities also brought out a colourful procession with banner, festoons and placards and marched through the campus.

At least 16 tribal youths' organisations participated in the convention, also organising a separate discussion at DU Teachers Students Centre (TSC) auditorium on the rights of indigenous people.

No comments:

Post a Comment