Total Pageviews

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Recognise indigenous people in constitution, PCJSS demands

Courtesy: The Daily Star, Dhaka, Wednesday, October 27, 2010
Front Page

Recognise indigenous people in constitution
PCJSS demands

Staff Correspondent

Parbatya Chattagram Jana Sanghati Samity (PCJSS) yesterday placed a proposal before the parliamentary committee to amend the constitution for providing constitutional recognition to the indigenous people.
A six-member delegation of PCJSS led by its vice president Ushatan Talukder submitted the written proposal to the chairperson of the committee Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, also the deputy leader of the House.
Mongal Kumar Chakma, information and publicity secretary of PCJSS, told The Daily Star that the chairperson expressed positive attitude towards the constitutional recognition to the indigenous people.
“We are now hopeful after meeting her,” Mongal, also a member of the delegation, said.
Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury is also the convener of Chittagong Hill Tracts Peace Accord Implementation Committee.
The indigenous community have been demanding constitutional recognition for a long time.
PCJSS in the memorandum propose for inclusion of more than 46 indigenous communities of the country in the constitution.
They demanded for bringing 14 amendments in different articles of the constitution.
The demands include inclusion of a clause “but the state will patronise the conservation and flourishing of the languages of indigenous community” at the end of the clause “The state language of the republic will be Bangla” in article 3.
Senior leaders of PCJSS Goutam Kumar Chakma, Pranati Bikash Chakma, Shaktipada Tripura and Traima Singh Chowdhury are the other members of the delegation.

No comments:

Post a Comment