Total Pageviews

New leadership

Contact us:

PCJSS/JSS key persons:
Sudha Sindhu Khisa, President/ Rupayan Dewan, Vice President,/Tatindra Lal Chakma, General Secretary/. Responsibility shouldered on 11 July 2013.

Background: The present central committee was elected on 11 July 2013, on the 2nd day of the 3-day long 10th PCJSS national conference. The earlier committee (convening committee) was formed on 10th April 2010 when Mr. Santu Larma convened the 9th national conference (29-31 March 2010) in sheer violation of the party constitution and excluded a few hundred veteran leaders and members and also "formally" expelled 7 top veteran leaders (Chandra Sekhar Chakma, Sudhasindhu Khisa, Rupayan Dewan, Tatindra Lal Chakma, Eng. Mrinal Kanti Tripura, Advocate Shaktiman Chakma and Binoy Krishna Khisa) and also declared their capital punishment. The present leadership is determined to democratise the JSS under a collective leadership.

"The world suffers a lot not because of the violence of the bad people, But because of the silence of the good people." Napoleon (1769-1821).

Thursday, December 16, 2010

15 injured as PCP, police clash in Khagrachhari

Courtesy: The Daily Star, National, 16 Dec 2010

15 injured as PCP, police clash in Khagrachhari

A Corespondent, Khagrachhari

At least 15 people including policemen were injured as hundreds of indigenous youths fought with police in Sanirbor Bazaar area yesterday.

Police fired rubber bullets to disperse the youths and arrested 15 from the spot.

Police sources said, Pahari Chhatra Parishad (PCP), the student wing of United Peoples Democratic Front (UPDF) took permission from the Deputy Commissioner (DC) to hold its 15th council at Swanirvor Centre.

But after the council the PCP leaders and activists tried to march towards Khagrachhari bazaar chanting slogans.
Witnesses said, the clash started as police put up barricade in front of Khagrachhari Hill District Council saying the PCP had no permission to bring out procession. At this, the angry indigenous youths threw brickbats and stones on police leaving ten policemen and five passers- by injured.

Deputy Commissioner Anisul Hoque Bhuiyan said, "the administration imposed ban on non-registered regional political party UPDF and its three front organisations -- PCP, Hill Women's Federation (HWF) and Democratic Youth Forum (DYF) on February 26, 2010 as they were responsible for last February 23 Khagrachhari violence that left 3 people killed”.

"PCP violated the ban yesterday", he added.

Superintendent of Khagrachhari district police Abu Kalam Siddiq said, police arrested 15 leaders and activists of PCP from the spots. Injured cops were admitted Khagrachhari Adhunik Sadar Hospital while the passers-by given first aid, he added.

No comments:

Post a Comment