Total Pageviews

Sunday, December 26, 2010

All eyes are on Khagarachari

The CHT Accord Implementation Committee (CAIC) suddenly returned from coma after 16 months and on the extreme end of the 2nd year of the Awami League led 14-party alliance Govt it sat at Khagarachari circuit house today at 4.30pm. In this long period the GoB (Govt of Bangladesh) did not implement any decisions agreed in the earlier meeting.

The committee is composed of 3 members headed by the representative of the Prime Minister while 2 other members are the President of the PCJSS and the Chairman of the Task Force. This time Begum Sajeda Chowdhury, M.P. and the Deputy Leader of the house represents the Prime Minister.

Begum Sajeda Chowdhury and Mr. Santu Larma are seen at Khagarachari circuit house prior to 3rd meeting of the CHT Accord Implementation Committee.

Mr. Santu Larma, Chairman, CHT Regional Council arrived at Khagarachari with a convoy of 2 jeeps, 3 microbuses and also a police protection party pickup. He also brought a group of his private escorts with him like last time when he visited Khagarachari on Jan 27 this year to attend the Task Force meeting. This was his visit after a long gap of 3 years 1 month 21 days (he visited on Dec 6, 2006) to attend a college function. Last time he came under brickbats on his way to Khagarachari town at 3 places e.g. Betchari under Naniachar Upazila, Lemuchari and Macchochara under Mohalchari Upazila. Mr. Larma was scheduled to arrive at Khagarachari yesterday but dropped the plan and left Rangamati today at around 11.00am at shall stay at Khagarachari Parjatan motel.

The CAIC meeting started at 4.30pm at Khagarachari circuit house with Begum Sajeda Chowdhury, Mr. Santu Larma and Mr. JL Tripura, M.P. while Mr. Dipankar Talukdar, M.P., State Minister and responsible for the MoCHTA (Ministry for CHT Affairs) was away from the venue.

No comments:

Post a Comment