Total Pageviews

New leadership

Contact us:

PCJSS/JSS key persons:
Sudha Sindhu Khisa, President/ Rupayan Dewan, Vice President,/Tatindra Lal Chakma, General Secretary/. Responsibility shouldered on 11 July 2013.

Background: The present central committee was elected on 11 July 2013, on the 2nd day of the 3-day long 10th PCJSS national conference. The earlier committee (convening committee) was formed on 10th April 2010 when Mr. Santu Larma convened the 9th national conference (29-31 March 2010) in sheer violation of the party constitution and excluded a few hundred veteran leaders and members and also "formally" expelled 7 top veteran leaders (Chandra Sekhar Chakma, Sudhasindhu Khisa, Rupayan Dewan, Tatindra Lal Chakma, Eng. Mrinal Kanti Tripura, Advocate Shaktiman Chakma and Binoy Krishna Khisa) and also declared their capital punishment. The present leadership is determined to democratise the JSS under a collective leadership.

"The world suffers a lot not because of the violence of the bad people, But because of the silence of the good people." Napoleon (1769-1821).

Friday, December 24, 2010

'Amend CHT land law'

Courtesy: The Daily Star, Dhaka, Metropolitan, Dec 24, 2010, Web:

Staff Correspondent

Members of the indigenous community yesterday demanded amendment to the Chittagong Hill Tracts (CHT) Land Dispute Resolution Commission Act to resolve problems in the CHT region.

They also reiterated their demand for the resignation of the chairman of the CHT Land Commission as he takes decisions without consulting members of the commission.

They alleged that CHT Land Commission Chairman Khademul Islam Chowdhury has taken up some decisions, which go against the CHT peace accord.

The demands were made at a discussion meeting titled 'Land dispute in CHT and Land Dispute Resolution Commission Act' at the National Press Club in the city.

Speaking as the chief guest, Justice Gholam Rabbani said a separate law should be formulated to resolve land disputes in CHT region.

He also suggested forming an indigenous academy that would work to connect cultures of mainstream Bangalees with indigenous communities.

Presenting the keynote paper, Mangal Kumar Chakma said a high level committee decided there were 23 contradictory provisions in the CHT Land Dispute Resolution Commission Act that should be amended.

The committee also decided to remove the chairman of the commission but both decisions were not implemented, he added.

Mangal also alleged that the commission chairman is conducting its activities unilaterally.

Though the law was passed in 2001, the land dispute resolving rules were not formulated yet, he said, suggesting on doing so.

Shamsul Huda, executive director of Association for Land Reform and Development and Swapan Adnan, member of international CHT Commission, also spoke.

The meeting was jointly organised by Khagrachhari District Headman Association, Kapeng Foundation, Chittagong Hill Tracts Forest and Land Rights Movement and Parbatya Chattagram Nagorik Committee.

Chahla Prue Jemi and Gautam Dewan also addressed the meeting.

No comments:

Post a Comment